France covers more time zones than any country in this world

Did you know? With its 12 standard times, France currently holds the world record for the country with the most time zones, beating United States and even the Russia, which have 11 time zones each.

The main body of France, as a country, is Central European Time (CET) includes the capital Paris. That’s 1 time zone. Central European Summer Time (UTC +2) time zone is used during other parts of the year. It will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends. Only the European part of France and the collectivity of Saint Pierre and Miquelon use Daylight Saving Time (DST).

However the French empire contained territories/colonies all over the world left over from its colonial period. So with its overseas territories, France uses 12 different time zones, more than any other country in the world. Next biggest time zones by country are Russia, United States with 11 time zones, Antarctica, Australia, United Kingdom with 9, Canada with 6 and Denmark, New Zealand with 5 time zones.

Impressive, right?


Be the first in line! Subscribe to our newsletter and receive updates on new arrivals, sales and exclusive discounts about adventure style clothes, outdoor style accessory's , best shirts design of 2020, lifestyle products, 2020 trends and fashion and more.